Hurricane dinner!

Due to a serious hurricane approaching, I have been in my house all day. With possibility of a power outage, I resisted the urge to cook. I mean, the last thing I want to do is put a batch of anything in the oven for the power to go off at that instant!

So instead, I made dinner. I was going to make lasagna roll ups, but we didn’t have any spinach or defrosted meat (also, that requires the oven). But I did find some sausage.

Sausage is my favorite last minute decision frozen food. Probably because it is the only meat I am not afraid to microwave to defrost. And I understand how much to make when only taking out a portion.

image

We keep peppers cut up and frozen in the freezer, so I cooked those up with some onions and garlic. Then I threw the sausage in.

And wouldn’t you believe, the power went out while I was cooking. But only for a minute. It just affirmed my earlier fears of cooking power outages!

image

My mom doesn’t care for sausage, so I made some linguine to go with it. But my mom mentioned earlier how she could go for a sub. So my dad and I had sausage sandwiches. Mmmm.

image

A whole lot of apple cider vinegar is soaked into that top piece. Mmmmm.

So, I hope everyone is being safe and keeping their minds off the storm. And that my best friend Kelsey is doing well stuck at work for what must be approaching 28 hours.

Be well!   🙂

Leave a comment