Mini Apple Pomegranate Pies!

I haven’t forgotten you. I haven’t even forgotten to cook. I have been too busy to properly blog. I mean, I still am too busy,  but I need to put this out there.

image

As I showed a few weeks ago, I received a mini pie maker! I finally got to make a pie. Actually, four pies. See, a normal pie recipe will make four mini pies!

I used this recipe I found as a base. I followed the crust recipe and found it a little bland, so I would probably use a different crust next time.

image

This was my first time working with fresh pomegranate. So weird looking.

image

Like a bright red honeycomb. Delicious.

Crust
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon ground spices (I used cinnamon and apple pie spice)
4 tablespoon cold butter, cut up into chunks
1 egg yolk + 1/4 cup cold water, combined

Filling
2 medium Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced + lemon juice to keep from browning
1/2 cup heaping fresh pomegranate arils
2 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 egg white, lightly beaten

Directions

Make the dough by sifting the flours and spices together. Mash the cold butter in using a fork.

image

I couldn’t really get mine to look moist, so I just mashed as much as I could. Add the egg yolk mixture and combine and mix until a dough forms, adding water as necessary. Refrigerate at least half hour.

Combine sliced apples with arils, keeping lemon juice. Add sugar and spices and mix to combine.

Now I used my little pie maker to create small, delicious pies. I rolled out the dough, used the cutout for the bottom crust, brushed with egg white, piled filling in and put two little leaf cutouts on top. Then I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.

image

And I cooked it about 9 minutes.

If you do not have a supercute mini pie maker, make a normal sized pie by preheating to 375ºF and following the directions from the original recipe:
“Roll the dough on baking sheet to make a round about 10 inches round and brush all over with some of the egg white.
Pile the fruit mixture in the middle of the pastry, the draw the edges up over the fruits,leaving the center open. Brush the center with some more of the egg white and sprinkle the remaining cinnamon sugar. Sprinkle the raw sugar on the pastry. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until pastry is golden brown and the apples are tender.”

image

I like my way better. That is a normal sized dinner plate. So they are handheld and tiny. And the filling is yummy!

I need more mini pie ideas! Any suggestions? I am open to sweet it savory!

Leave a comment