Lemon Blueberry Mini Muffins!

image

Sometimes, I agree to do things. Then I remember, when do I possibly think I have time. Like earlier this week, I offered to make mini muffins for a work baby shower which it turns out, I can’t even go to. I’ll just have to sneak some goodies out.

So the only time I have to make mini muffins is when I get home from the gym Wednesday night (and since I teach the class, I can’t just skip). Due to the fact I need to make muffins, traffic was extra awful getting home and I still had to eat dinner. So I started at 9pm. And annoyed my parents with the beaters during the debate (oops!).

My interpretation is adapted from this recipe I found on Pinterest awhile ago. I have actually made it before and really enjoy it with my slight changes.

image

Lemon Blueberry Mini Muffins

Ingredients
3/4 cups sugar, + 2 tablespoons, divided
Zest from 3 lemons
2 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup salted butter, room temperature*
1 large egg
1 cup light buttermilk
2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 1/2-pint containers of blueberries

* I never ever remember to take the butter out ahead of time. I recently discovered and subsequently fell in love with the soften button on the microwave. Look into it. 🙂

My first step is to zest the 3 lemons. I totally regret doing arm work at the gym, zesting lemons is enough. It took me 10 minutes.

image

Then I mix 2 tablespoons of sugar into the zest and make a moist mush.

Combine flour, salt and baking powder in a smallish bowl.

Cream butter and sugar together in a large bowl. Add egg and combine.

Side note: I am super impressed with people who stop to take photos every step of the way. I have trouble combining dry ingredients in with wet without getting flour all over myself without a camera.

Add buttermilk.

image

Add vanilla (I love this vanilla)!

image

Then add lemon sugar mush. Combine all and then slowly add in the dry ingredients.

Now is the delicate part.

image

I add 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and gently fold it in. All of the internet says something about gluten and that you don’t want to mix it too much. I don’t question. I wish I had a degree in food science, but it comes out delicious this way so I do it.

Due to my slow baking skills, I don’t preheat the oven until I start to fill the tin. 375° and I spray the tin with a Pam type product.

Now here is the part I may lose you.

I fill each cuppie about 1/3 of the way with batter.

image

Then I put 3 blueberries in each one.

image

Then I top it with a bit more batter (oops, forgot to take a photo!)!

And add two more blueberries to the top! So they end up about 3/4 full.

image

Bake at 375° for about 15-17 minutes (always check early)!

image

The blueberries do burst a little.

image

For the delicious best.

image

This is after the first batch. This recipe made my way makes… 43. Only 41 are making it to work. Oh well!

image

Mmmm. They are moist and super yummy. I can’t wait to eat them tomorrow. Hopefully there are some left!

I cut out 1/4 cup sugar from the original recipe and my dad said you can tell it isn’t so sweet, but I definitely don’t think that is a bad thing.

I previously made these mixing blueberries, raspberries and blackberries and it was delicious. I cut up the bigger berries and just put pieces in, making only blackberry, only raspberry, only blueberry and then some mixed berries.

image

Those were delicious.

But berries aren’t in season and I think the blueberry goes best with lemon. I am dying to modify this recipe to make raspberry lime mini muffins! I mean, lemon blueberry, cranberry orange, come on, I feel like lime needs one! What do you think? Raspberry lime as a fantastic flavor combination?

Leave a comment